Like many Sundays, I’m spending this morning with coffee and reflection. I’ll reflect on the past week, think about the week to come. I will remember the people I’ve interacted with and think of ways to brighten someone’s day, especially during the cold and grey winter.

I might spend some time reading the Bible. I might listen to a sermon (or liturgy) online. I will definitely pray.

Notice what I did not include: “going to church”. Now, I will get up on time, get dressed appropriately (especially since the church I attend, albeit sporadically, is a tad more formal), and physically go to a church building on Sunday occasionally. But, because of the church environment of my childhood, I sometimes find it difficult to feel “safe” in a church.

As I begin to tell this story, please remember a few things: All names are substitutions. To preserve a sense of security, I have chosen to use the name Susanna, who was one of the women who physically followed Jesus (see Luke 8:1-3). I will not refer to churches, pastors, or others by their true names (nor location).  The first part of the story will begin in the next post.